Picture
I think one of the reasons I still find it hard to believe I’m in Australia is because of the fact that I see so much of the states here. Aussies’ commercials, shows, music, and business are heavily influenced and taken over by American brands and by what is going on in America. For instance, Australia has this nifty little show called Sunrise, which is literally a spitting image of The Today Show – down to the color scheme.  The news they cover on Sunrise is also very similar to The Today Show in that it isn’t actually news. This morning for instance, there was a beard competition being broadcasted as a segment.

There are also a couple other things I’ve noticed on TV. The first thing is cricket. I watched it for 45 minutes yesterday, and by the end of the match I still had no idea what was going on. It probably didn’t help that I didn’t have the sound on or have subtitles, but regardless cricket is a tough sport to pick up on. The other show, which I noticed last night, is Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? Yes that show still exists – how I don’t know. According to the questions I knew the answers to though, my winnings would have amounted to $200.

Devin and I finally got our bikes out to do a little exploring along the major river here in Melbourne. The whole path is probably in between 30 and 40 miles, and the whole thing was crazy busy with people walking and biking. Melbourne is such an active city, and really bike friendly. Not to say I’m going to try to bike on the street during rush hour any time soon, but the fact I can ride 20 miles without being interrupted by traffic makes me feel like I’m back home in Indiana.

Another thing on the to do list today was to try and find a cheap phone to use while I’m here in Australia. The first store we went into seemed to have a pretty good deal: for $30 dollars a month, I would be able keep my old phone and would be given a new sim card. I was so excited because that would have just been so convenient, but as soon as I handed the guy my phone I knew luck wasn’t on my side. Turns out, Verizon cock blocks you from trying to do this sort of thing and I can’t even take my sim card out. But like every sad story, there was a light at the end of the tunnel. Yeah I have to buy a new phone, but I can have unlimited international text. So friends come Monday afternoon, be ready for me to blow up your inbox. I’m already shaking in excitement.

I decided to be a little adventurous with my dinner choice tonight – I tried lobster. I can say with confidence that might be the only time I choose lobster. The fact I was given tools to disassemble my meal was the first red flag. Anyway, at the end of the day, I’m still in Australia, so that can always be my fall back if there’s ever a time I don’t feel like I’ve been super adventurous with my meal choices.   


P.S. Happy 21st Lena! This beer was for you, mate. Xoxo




Leave a Reply.