Picture
You’re going to get multiple entries from me today because it is going to take over 30 hours total to get from Indy to Melbourne. And after I wrote yesterday’s entry, I discovered the fun of journaling. Writing with pen and paper takes so long for me to do. It’s because I’m so OCD about my handwriting being perfect (no joke, I will rewrite my notes from class if I think they look bad), that by the time I finish the first sentence of my thoughts, I’ve already forgotten where I was going with it.

The reason this first entry is being written is that I’m stuck in the window seat and my book is in my bag that I stashed in the overhead compartment. And the only things I have in my backpack are my laptop and two pairs of shoes. Since I’m not walking anywhere soon and because in flight Wi-Fi is $4.50 for 30 minutes, I’m only left with looking through old pictures and Microsoft Word.

Story time. Yesterday, 3:30pm. My dad is trying to check us in online for all of our flights. Something went wrong online, so he called the 800 number to check us in that way. I have gotten pretty good at determining the level of concern I actually need to have by my dad’s decibel volume as well as how many curse words he can pepper into one sentence. On a scale of 1-10, this was a 9.5 – serious shit. Somehow the airline we scheduled our flights through “accidentally” cancelled our seats – so we had tickets, but nowhere to sit on the flights. Long story short though, everything got worked out this morning after we arrived super early – I’m talking about “I woke up at 5:45am early” – in Indy to talk to a ticket agent.

As I look out the window, I see the puffy white clouds float on by below us, casting a shadow on the patchwork-like fields of the Midwest. It reminds me of how when I was a wee little sprout, I thought the trees touched the sky and brushed up against the clouds because they looked so tall. Too bad I was wrong, because trees that tall would be crazy cool, but what it always makes me remember how important it is to change your perspective every once in a while. Even if you find out the way you thought about or saw something wasn’t quite right, finding a new perspective can totally change your life. Once I realized trees weren’t as tall as the clouds, I had this new appreciation for the sky and everything that was in between. We can get so set in our ways of thinking and moving, but we have to change it up every once in a while. My most recent change up? Leaving my home for five months to discover a whole new continent. 



Alena
7/7/2013 02:23:17 pm

I love you <3

Reply



Leave a Reply.