Picture
It’s official; I have been lucky enough to meet some of the best people in the world while I’ve been here in Australia. As if I needed any more of a birthday celebration, I was surprised my by Frisbee team at dinner tonight. I was expecting just a dinner out with my family and a few friends, to let them have an opportunity to meet each other and see how amazing each other are, but they all had another plan in mind. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were pointed in the direction of our table and there the team was, just grinning and waving at me; boy, did they get me.  There were ten of them there in addition to my family and Devin, and I can honestly say I appreciate and absolutely adore each and every one of them. Individually, they have their own unique traits and quirks, but they all have in common their ability to be selfless, shower you with kindness, and make you smile without even having to try. I seriously cannot imagine my life without these guys, but I am so thankful I have been lucky enough to share part of my life with them. Because I have met them, I have learned so many life lessons and now I have a better understanding on how to keep growing and becoming a better person. Why don’t they make suitcases big enough to pack people in them yet? Seriously, it’s the 21st century.

It breaks my heart to think that in less than 48 hours, my mom and aunt will already be gone. Like I knew it would, time has flown by no matter how much I tried to slow down the hours passing. The only things that help numb the pain are the support system I have built here, and the fact that I only have a little over six weeks before I return home. I can’t believe that it is already half way through October already, and my last class finishes up this Thursday – have I really been gone for almost four months? Apparently, yes. I’m now in this contradictive state where I miss my life at home, but I know I’m going to miss the life I created here. Apparently though, Hawaii is the half way point between Chicago and Australia plane wise, so everyone that I know should just move there to make this whole thing easier. I mean come on, it’s Hawaii, you know that’s not a bad compromise.  

By the way,the lovely gal in the picture is Tiff. She's just one of the amazing people I am going to cry so hard over leaving here. 


Asha
11/20/2013 02:52:02 pm

So i'm reading all your posts because I am way too sad you will be leaving very very soon.... Legit crying right meow!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.