Well, I made it – the journey has officially begun. I’m sitting here in my dorm room and I have decided that the first order of business tomorrow is going to be decorating the walls somehow. I’m surrounded by white brick walls, and they make me feel like I’m being held captive in a cell. Not like I have any perception of what a jail cell is actually like, but these walls make me feel as depressed as I believe I would feel if I was in fact in jail.

I did my first round of grocery shopping this evening, and bought the necessary ingredients for the gourmet dinner Devin and I prepared, which consisted of peanut butter and banana sandwiches with a side of rice. Don’t get excited, the rice was prepared in a microwave. While I’m here, my diet is totally going to depend on my effort level, so I’m hoping that I’m feeling a little more peppy when it comes to making dinner tomorrow night. Also, while grocery shopping, I also bought bug be gone spray and lined every threshold I will be crossing with it, so hopefully I don’t have a run in with a cockroach ever.

Saying goodbye to my parents was easily the hardest thing I have ever had to do. I have this last image of them in my head, waving to me from the hotel as Devin and I drove away in our taxi, and I break down every time I let myself picture it. I know the first night is the hardest, but I couldn’t have imagined how hard it would be. Even with Devin here it is still unimaginable difficult, so that just goes to show how much more of a mess I would be without him here. Instead of bawling by myself, I have someone’s sleeve to blow my nose on and watch Flight of the Concords with to distract me. I realized today that instead of taking a baby step, like maybe going to an out of state school for college, I decided to take three huge leaps and go half way across the world for five months. Go big or go home right? But seriously, a piece of advice for all my friends who might want to study abroad or flee the country: take into consideration that you will go through the phase of “oh my gosh, what the hell was I thinking, get me back home” fairly fast. It’s easy to get caught up in the amazement of it all, and don’t get me wrong, I am super excited for everything that lies ahead for me, but right now, all I can think about is the easy way of life I left back home.

Today was the first awful day of weather Devin and I have experienced so far. It actually feels like winter here in Melbourne. In Sydney today, it was 70 degrees and sunny. This afternoon when we flew into Melbourne, we were welcomed back with 46 degrees and a steady rain. I’m terrified Melbourne is going to be like Indiana weather, in that it has the ability to change 30 degrees in one day. But if that is the case, I guess I’ll feel a little more at home then I thought. 

Debbie
7/21/2013 01:12:03 pm

Be brave! You have to go through all the emotions to truly experience the experience. Keep the great blog posts coming!!!

Reply
Nancy Olson
7/21/2013 01:51:13 pm

Hi, Maddie,

Just wanted to let you know that Marilyn sent me the link to your blogs, and I've just read all of them. You're a great travel writer. I enjoyed your "voice," and wondered a number of times how you remembered all you did, especially some of the historical facts. You're also so descriptive that I felt like I was there. I shared your immediate love for all the critters--and enjoyed the photos--and I felt your pain for the little penguins. I'm so glad the single little guy made it back to his friends safely and re-emerged safely with them to make his way home. Thanks for sharing your adventures with us. I'll look forward to staying tuned for the duration. Best wishes for a wonderful time as an Aussie. One of my favorite comic strips is "Luann," and I've been enjoying her romance with her Aussie boyfriend. I predict they will eventually do the Kangaroo Hop into the sunset together.
Love, Aunt Nancy

Reply
Maddie
7/22/2013 10:05:51 pm

Oh Nancy thank you so much for your kind words! I'm so glad your enjoying my posts. I checked out Luann, and I've definitely read the strip before - it's a good one. I hear Aussie boys are mischievous, so good thing I have Dev!

Reply



Leave a Reply.