Picture
As I look more and more at this picture, I realize just how little my mom is - seriously, I look like I'm crushing her. Anyway, I was a total mess by the time my mom made it from the customs sliding door all the way down to end of the walkway to where I was. I had been bouncing in place, holding the lilies I had bought her, for over thirty minutes and Devin was laughing at me the whole time. It was actually ridiculous how emotional I was because as soon as I saw her I started shaking and then I was bawling by the time I was able to hug her. I keep thinking I’m imagining her and my aunt being here and that it is actually just a dream because it is so unreal seeing them sitting on the couch right next to me. I am overjoyed and filled with such an elated feeling I don’t know if I could ever come down from this high, so the fact that my birthday is in two days is just a minor detail.

Because my mom is one of the best people ever, she packed in her suitcase some of the necessities I have been craving for the past three months. JIF peanut butter, grape jelly, Velveeta macaroni and cheese, and frosted mini wheats. Holy moly – three months without a PB and J is so wrong; I never want to put myself through that again. Australia has every kind of jelly you could ever want, besides grape, and it’s been breaking my heart. JIF peanut butter is my all time fav and even though it is packed with sugar and hydrogenated oil – stuff that is “bad” for you – I choose to overlook those details. My mouth is already watering from the anticipation of eating my first bowl of mini wheats tomorrow morning for breakfast.

This past Sunday, Devin took me to an indoor rock climbing gym as a part of an early birthday present. It was such a neat gym because it was in the middle of the city, and all the walls of the facility were glass. That meant while you were dangling in the air you could also look out to the streets just to see how high up off the actual ground you were, which was great for my fear of heights…not. It’s like I have to remind myself I’m not going to die every time I climb because being up high freaks me out so much. Despite my fear, I absolutely love rock climbing though, so the fact that he took me for my birthday was a perfect gift. 


alena Oljace
10/7/2013 10:42:22 pm

madds, I started bawling as soon as I saw the picture of you and your mom. and as I started reading this I realized I could have predicted everything you were feeling, how you were acting, etc. I know you well little miss. love you dearly.

Reply
alena
10/7/2013 10:43:12 pm

also I knew you'd be crazy all the food items you mentioned lol. ;) <3

Reply
Daddy
10/8/2013 06:23:54 am

Hey Sweetie:
What wonderful blogs! You are making such wonderful memories. I am especially thrilled that you are making so many great friends. I know that your memories and those relationships will last a lifetime. What a treasure-you should feel like Santiago! I teared up when I saw the picture of you hugging your mother and read your description of when she and Aunt Sissy arrived in Melbourne. I wish so much that I could be there, but I share the joy you both are experiencing being together again. I also really appreciate your kind words to me on the phone last night telling me that you could see my hand in all of this. Feel me love you sweet lady and have a ball with your mom and Aunt Sissy. Take lots of pictures and we will be sure to talk on your birthday.
I love you very much,
Daddy (not Devin - your real Daddy)

Reply
alena
10/9/2013 03:27:34 am

this is adorable :) you hayfords need to stop making me cry

Reply
Jenny
10/8/2013 11:54:42 am

Maddie - so happy that you and your mom are together. Hugs to all.

Reply
Aunt Cyd
10/8/2013 09:28:00 pm

Hello Picklehead, how I wish I WERE there. But I will wait patiently until December. I love you and miss you. Keep up the "snap shots" of life Down Under. See you when you are Top Side! Have a perfect Birthday Maddie!

Reply
Kelsey (Mom)
10/10/2013 02:12:48 am

Just cried at that picture of you and your mom. Nbd. MISSIN YOU MORE EVERY DAY LITTLE ONE! Wishing this mother of yours could be there too :) LOVE YOU MADS!

Reply



Leave a Reply.